top of page
Search
Writer's pictureLomush Vashishta

My musical identity

I had been introduced to music in quite an early stage of life and have been enjoying it for all my life , but I never thought about my musical identity as such before this course. Growing up everyone develops their own musical taste but if I were to explain that in terms of my identity it would be hard for me to articulate that in words.

In our childhood usually consists of music like the national anthem or the national song to instill in us the values of patriotisms. Prayers on the other hand which might not be considered as music, still contributed in my upbringing. Religion obviously guides and influences us. Songs specifically made for teaching children lessons and tell stories, etc. These are just a few examples which I could think of off the top of my head which have surely contributed to the development of my identity and influenced my personality in the past.

At present though I am in a bit of a shamble cause I am not sure what my identity is, sure I am a student, I am 20 years old and I know what I like as a person but other than that I don't really have a clue who I am or rather what I am supposed to be.

I might sometimes stress upon this point but its not really that troublesome, usually people that are at this stage of their life often ponder about this.

Anyways lets talk about my musical preferences , I listen to music of some different languages, languages that include English, Hindi , Punjabi, Japanese etc. And Under these languages I listen to many different genres like for English rock, Pop, indie, old jazz also sometimes movie scores, cause for me some music is more about the essence or feeling I got while listening to it . This might be the reason I dislike some songs with lyrics for drinking, partying, clubbing. Not really my jam

Whereas songs about power struggle, someone sharing their views about their life entice me more.

I listen to Eminem, frank Sinatra, Lisa, 21 pilots ,Avicii, Hanz Zimmer, the weeknd, Ap dhillon ,Arijit Singh etc.

I basically listen to 2 types of music one that resonate with me and were relatable to my situation and the other to stay in touch with the pop culture stuff that gets you hyped up but doesn't really matter much,

With some movie scores and anime ops mixed in there.

Since I Am always evolving my music taste also changes with time.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page